11 things

11 12 2010

December 11 – 11 Things What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life?

  1. Negativity – the quarters method.  we’ll put a quarter in a jar every time we’re negative and see how fast things add up.  that kinda stuff always gets things in perspective for me
  2. Worry – this is a tough one because it is always a challenge to remember that worrying about things isn’t helping anyone move forward.  if anything, it traps you in the moment.  it’ll just take practice
  3. Pretentiousness – in no way do I believe that I know it all, but sometimes, I act like I do and that needs to stop.  I have SOME authority over SOME things, but not all authority over ALL things.  Also, being a snob is not cute.
  4. Judgment (on my end and from others) – it’s all about putting down the magnifying glass and picking up the mirror.  when we judge, it’s not about the people we judge; it’s about ourselves and how we feel about ourselves.
  5. Doubt – in myself, in others.  More ‘benefit of the doubt’ is in order here.
  6. Unnecessary material possessions – tons of clothes or books or purses or anything material ties me down too tightly and makes me a slave to things rather than experiences and I’m over it.
  7. More DEBT – with my gargantuan student loan hovering over my credit report, I don’t need to add more fuel to the fire.  I guess this goes with #6
  8. Sadness – there’s nothing to be sad about.  I’m alive, loved, and for the most part, healthy.  I live near the ocean, I have running water, clean drinking water, clothes on my back, and food to eat.  Being sad sounds plain ungrateful.
  9. Selfishness – me me me me me me me.  That’s how I grew up as an only child.  It wasn’t a terrible thing, but it isn’t conducive to building relationships with others.
  10. Alcohol – wow, I can see why lawyers become alcoholics.  Law school just makes you want to kill your brain cells.  It’s unproductive to drink and it’s terrible for your health if you do it too much, so I’m going to give up alcohol.  Seriously.
  11. Dry skin (haha yes, really) – moisturizing is the only way.

now, if i eliminate all of these things, life will be a little more pleasant.  more bright.  more full of energy, light, and hope.  just the way i like it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

